Hello, my name is Naliyah Price, 16, and I have been natural for about 3 years now. My 3 year journey has been a trial and error process, but every step of the way was worth it. Being natural is something that I am very proud of. Being natural makes me feel so true and confident! It takes time and patience, but the outcome is beautiful!  It will make you feel, as though, you accomplished a part of you! Before my big chop I was slowly transitioning. While transitioning, the only products I would use on my hair was the Cantu Shea Butter Coconut Curling Cream and water.Cantu Shea Butter Coconut Curling Cream

I didn’t know how to properly take care of my hair, so I was just going day by day applying the cream and water to my hair and washing my hair once a month.

In between the time of transitioning I was wearing protective styles like Box Braids or Senegalese Twists. The summer of 2013 I wore Senegalese Twists. I loved my Twists. Every day I would apply carrot oil and olive oil to my scalp. One day, I went to a friend’s house to workout for Volleyball. After our workout my scalp was itchy and just dirty, so her mom suggested on washing my hair with the Senegalese Twists still intact. Her mom used Mane and Tail Shampoo and Conditioner, and a homemade oil in a small bottle. The day I took my twists out, I noticed my hair was really tangled and dread like, so my mom scheduled an appointment with my beautician later on that week. October 23, 2013 was the day of my appointment. While doing my hair, my beautician noticed that certain parts of my hair was falling out and damaged. I MUST HAVE CRIED A RIVER! Lol. After my crying scene I made the decision to just start over with my hair, and see where the journey would lead me. I also dyed my hair a sandy brown since I was doing something new.

Over time I started to love my short hair. I watched A LOT of YouTube videos for hairstyles, regimen ideas, and just ways to keep up with my hair because I did not want to go through another big chop. My hair was healthy and growing so beautifully.

Fast forwarding to the year of 2015, my birthday was coming up (September 4th). I was turning 16, so I wanted to do something different with my hair. I went to my beautician on the week of my birthday. I got a silk press and dyed the front of my hair blonde. I thought the look was cute! IMG_5185

A week or two later, I reverted back to my curls. I noticed that my curls were looser and some parts of the front of my hair did not curl up like the rest of my hair, so I assumed that my hair was damaged. I started cutting some parts of my hair off every wash day (every Sunday). It got to the point where I was cutting my length off. I guess you can say I got scissor happy. Fast forwarding to the year of 2016, I sorta stopped cutting my hair and I’ve been trying to find a set regimen for my hair.

Now my hair is uneven all around, and I am trying to shape it and grow it back to the healthy hair it was. Lately, I have been doing a lot of protective styling like: crotchet braiding, twists, and corn rolls. I also have been wearing my hair in wash and go’s. So far my journey had its ups and downs, but I am slowly getting to my goal.

This is my current regimen: I wash my hair twice a week.

  • On Wednesdays, I just Co wash my hair.
  • On my wash day (Sunday), I first start off with a prepoo. I spray my hair with aloe vera juice and water, and follow it up with an oil I made, which consist of: Coconut Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Tea Tree Oil, and Black Jamaican Castor Oil.
  • I put a clear cap over my head and let it sit for 30 minutes to an hour.
  • Next, when I get in the shower I rinse my hair to get some of the oil off. Then, I section my hair into 4 parts and clip each section down.
  • I take my Cantu Shampoo, unclip one section my hair, and massage the shampoo into my scalp. I, then, rinse my hair and twist each section, letting the shampoo run down my hair strands.
  • Next, I take my Shea Moisture Conditioner, unravel a section, and apply the conditioner to my hair while detangling it at the same time. Then, I rinse the conditioner out and apply it again to my hair, and just twist my hair up. I do this to each section and don’t rinse it out until the end of my shower.
  • After rinsing out the conditioner, I get my bottle filled with 100% Aloe Vera juice, unravel each section, spray each section with the Aloe Vera Juice, re twist each section up, and wrap an old t-shirt around my hair .
  • When I get out of the shower, I do the LCO Method (Leave- In, Cream, and Oil). First, I unravel one section of my hair, spray my hair with Aloe Vera Juice and water, apply my Shea Moisture Leave In Conditioner, then apply my Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie cream, then apply a little of the oil I made, and just twist up that section for length retention. After I do the LCO Method to each section, I wrap a satin scarf around my hair.
  • In the Mornings, I unravel my twists with a little bit of coconut oil and style my hair for the day. During my night routine, I just do the LCO Method every other night or sometimes every night.

These are the products that I use in my regimen:

